Oman - Food and Agricultural Import Regulations and Standards

No votes yet
Your rating: None

The Sultanate of Oman is a member of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) that includes Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Saudi Arabia. With the exception of Saudi Arabia, the USDA’s Office of Agricultural Affairs (OAA), Dubai, covers the rest of the countries collectively known as the GCC-5.
Food Standards: In 2008, Yemen became the newest member of the Gulf Standards Organization (GSO), bringing the number of GSO member countries to seven. GSO is responsible for developing food and non food standards in the GCC. The GSO food standards committee, which is chaired by Qatar, has been actively updating GCC food standards over the past few years. The committee has been working to harmonize existing standards within the guidelines of the Codex Alimentarius, ISO and other international organizations. However, in some cases, differences still exist between some of the proposed new standards and existing international guidelines.
In theory, each GCC member should notify the WTO of any proposed new standard. However, typically, one or two of the member countries usually submit the notification. Interested parties who review these notifications should bear in mind that, while a notification may be submitted by a single GCC member, the proposed standard will eventually apply to all GCC member countries. Once a new standard is approved by the GSO food standards committee, each member country officially adopts the standard, thus making it a national standard as well as a GSO standard.

Mohamed Taha