South Africa - Food and Agricultural Import Regulations and Standards

No votes yet
Your rating: None

The South African food safety and food control systems are developed and enforced by three government departments: Department of Health (DOH), Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF) and Department of Trade and Industry (DTI).
Regulatory Authorities:

The Food Control Division of DOH is responsible for all ready-to-eat food products while DAFF regulates liquor products, agricultural processed products, perishables, flowers and vegetables. The National Regulator for Compulsory Specification (NRCS) of DTI, which took over the role previously held by the South African Bureau of Standards (SABS), enforces and sets standard specifications for both locally produced and imported seafood and canned fish products. When products and services do not meet the minimum standards, NRCS applies sanctions which include stopping sales of non-conforming products, seizure, destruction and prosecution of offenders.

Linda Siphugu